Cookies

Our website uses cookies. This includes small text data that is filed on your device via the browser. We use cookies i.e. collect selected data (Google Analytics) in order to design our content better (e.g. language related content). These do not cause any damage. Some cookies might be saved on your device; you can delete these at any time. Please refer to Legal notice for more information.

bob

Details: www.bob.at

bob is a Telekom Austria Group brand that offers mobile telephony as well as mobile internet products, designed mainly for younger target groups.
 
source: www.bob.at

bob connection manager (launch: summer 2009)

Due to the great success of " A1 dashboard ", which was developed by mquadr.at already in June 2008 and is based on m2connectionmanager, it was decided to commission mquadr.at with the installation of broadband- Internet- access as well as the development of a connection manager for the new Internet- product. For the most part, functions and design of the application are similar to the successful " A1 dashboard ". Naturally the interface was adapted to bob CI standards.

In February 2009 (first launch), the software was delivered on a separate CD. The installation was carried out in six easy steps and the proper hardware connection is illustrated by photo-realistic animations which explain how to connect cables and all hardware components.

Then, in the summer of 2009 a new version of " bob internet " was delivered - the " on board "-solution. This means the software is directly integrated on the provided HSDPA broadband-stick and the additional CD is no longer needed. The stick has to be inserted into the USB interface of the computer or laptop. After a successful installation it will be recognised as an additional " CD-ROM-device ". The required CD-ROM-emulator is supplied by the hardware-vendor HUAWEI and is installed on the customer's computer system. This procedure ensures an automatic start of the installation.

After a successful Internet-installation, mquadr.at's connection management-application starts automatically and will be configured automatically(if the software does not already exist).

The connection manager features are both simple and clever. Lots of small but important gadgets are available to the user in an easy and coherent way. The application allows the user to set up the mobile connection (HSDPA/UMTS preferred, HSDPA/UMTS fixed, EDGE/GPRS fixed, EDGE/GPRS preferred), as well as to perform different settings regarding manual network searching or roaming. For example,roaming may be disabled altogether, or only one network may be approved for roaming. In addition, other general settings may be changed,for example, PIN code request (activate/deactivate request, counting of failed attempts, PIN modification, etc.) or also the possibility to prevent the hibernation- mode of the computer in order not to lose an established Internet- connection. Furthermore, the connection manager also gives information about the Internet- access currently in use and provides the following details:

  • Connection type in use (LAN, WLAN, MOBILE)
  • Network in use as well as roaming-indicator (while using mobile Internet)
  • Up- and download speed
  • Signal strength
  • Current download volume (selected from the mobile broadband modem)

The proven mquadr.at connection manager is also integrated in order to switch to the available or preferred Internet- access- technology.

As an additional feature, a fully fledged SMS-management with numerous functions is included. Not only is it possible to write/send, receive and delete SMS messages, but it is also possible to send linked short messages. Moreover a transmission report may be activated or deactivated and hyperlinks will be recognised automatically and may be displayed within the Editor- window provided. The entire administration is carried out from the local computer system. This means, all incoming SMS will be selected by the modem and saved on the customer's system. This is also valid for the integrated address book; contacts may be saved, changed or deleted. The simple administration allows data import (from MS Office Outlook and MS Outlook Express) as well as data export (as a data file or on the SIM-card of the modem), and is equipped with a search- tool so contacts may be found easily.

Naturally the customer is provided with a detailed help- tool which contains general content about the solution offered by mquadr.at as well as specific categories provided by mobilkom Austria.

Cookies

Unsere Website verwendet Cookies. Es handelt sich dabei um kleinere Textdateien, die mit Hilfe des Browsers auf Ihrem Endgerät abgelegt werden. Wir nutzen Cookies bzw. sammeln Datenausschnitte (Google Analytics), um unsere Inhalte besser zu gestalten (z.B. sprachbezogene Inhalte). Diese richten keinen Schaden an. Es kann sein, dass einige Cookies auf Ihrem Endgerät gespeichert bleiben; Sie können diese jedoch jederzeit löschen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie im Impressum.

bob

Details: www.bob.at

bob ist eine Marke der Telekom Austria Group, unter der Produkte in den Bereichen Mobiltelefonie und (mobiles) Internet angeboten werden. Dabei werden vor allem junge Zielgruppen angesprochen.
 
Quelle: www.bob.at

bob Connection Manager (Launch: Sommer 2009)

Aufgrund des großen Anklangs des bereits im Juni 2008 von mquadr.at entwickelten "A1 Dashboards", wurde mquadr.at neben der Einrichtung des Breitband-Internet-Zugangs auch mit der Entwicklung eines Connection Managers für das neue Internet-Produkt von bob beauftragt. Die Applikation sollte dabei in Funktion und Design größtenteils dem erfolgreichen "A1 Dashboard" ähneln, wobei freilich die Oberfläche gemäß der CI von bob adaptiert wurde.

Beim ersten Launch (Februar 2009) wurde die Installations-Software auf einer extra CD-Rom ausgeliefert. Die Einrichtung erfolgte in 6 einfachen Schritten, wobei dem Anwender mittels integrierter Animationen die Anschlussschritte im Detail vorgeführt wurden.

Im Sommer 2009 wurde jedoch eine neue Version von "bob internet" ausgeliefert, welche als Novum in Form einer "on board"-Lösung entwickelt wurde, d.h. die Software ist direkt auf dem ausgelieferten HSDPA Breitband -Stick integriert, so dass keine weitere CD-Rom von Nöten ist. Der Stick wird einfach an die USB-Schnittstelle des Computers bzw. Laptops angesteckt und nach erfolgreicher Treiber-Installation zusätzlich als "CD-Rom Device" erkannt. Der dafür verantwortliche bzw. erforderliche CD-Rom Emulator wird von Hardware-Hersteller HUAWEI bereits mitgeliefert und auf dem Usersystem installiert.

Nach der erfolgreichen Internet-Einrichtung wird automatisch die Dashboard-Applikation von mquadr.at gestartet und auf dem Rechner eingerichtet (sofern die Software nicht bereits vorhanden ist).

Die Funktionalität dieses Connection Managers ist ebenso einfach wie raffiniert, da viele kleine aber wichtige Teile in einer übersichtlichen und leicht verständlichen Form für den Endkunden zugänglich gemacht werden. Die Applikation ermöglicht es dem Benutzer, die Art der mobilen Verbindung (HSDPA/UMTS bevorzugt, HSDPA/UMTS fixieren, EDGE/GPRS fixieren, EDGE/GPRS bevorzugt) einzustellen, sowie diverse Einstellungen zur manuellen Netzsuche bzw. Roaming vorzunehmen. Beispielsweise kann Roaming generell unterbunden werden oder ein einzelnes Netz für Roaming zugelassen werde. Darüber hinaus können diverse generelle Anpassungen verändert werden, z.B. die PIN-Code-Abfrage (Abfrage ein-/ausschalten, Fehlerversuche mitzählen, PIN ändern, etc.) oder die Möglichkeit, den Standby-Modus des Computers zu verhindern, um eine bestehende Netzverbindung nicht zu verlieren. Des Weiteren gibt der Connection Manager natürlich auch Aufschluss über den aktuell verwendeten Internet-Zugang und zeigt dazu folgende Informationen an:

  • Art des genutzten Zugangs (LAN, WLAN, MOBILE)
  • das verwendete Netz und der Roaming-Indikator (bei mobiler Internet-Nutzung)
  • Up- und Download-Geschwindigkeit
  • Signalstärke
  • aktuelles Downloadvolumen (dieses wird direkt aus dem mobilen Breitband-Modem ausgelesen)

Im bob Connection Manager ist außerdem der bewährte mquadr.at ConnectionManager integriert, welcher für die automatische Umschaltung auf die jeweils verfügbare bzw. bevorzugte Internet-Zugangstechnologie zuständig ist.

Als zusätzliches Feature ist auch eine vollwertige SMS-Verwaltung beinhaltet, welche mit zahlreichen Funktionen aufwarten kann: neben dem einfachen Schreiben/Versenden, Empfangen und Löschen von SMS, können auch verkettete Kurznachrichten versendet, Sendeberichte aktiviert bzw. deaktiviert und Hyperlinks automatisch erkannt und innerhalb des mitgelieferten Editor Fenster dargestellt werden. Die gesamte Administration erfolgt dabei lokal auf dem Computer, d.h. eine eintreffende SMS wird aus dem USB-Modem ausgelesen und auf dem Kundensystem gespeichert. Dies trifft auch auf das ebenfalls integrierte Adressbuch zu, mittels derer beliebige Kontakte angelegt, geändert oder gelöscht werden können. Zur einfacheren Verwaltung wurde sowohl ein Import (aus MS Office Outlook und MS Outlook Express) als auch ein Export (wahlweise in eine Datei oder auf die SIM-Karte des Modems) implementiert, sowie eine Suche, um den gewünschten Kontakt schnell finden zu können.

Selbstverständlich wird dem User auch eine ausführliche Hilfe mitgeliefert, welche sowohl allgemeine Inhalte zu dieser mquadr.at-Lösung beinhaltet, als auch spezielle Rubriken von mobilkom austria.